This site, originally platted in December, 1870, dates back to Wichita's early development with the establishment of the Wichita & Southwestern Railroad, later absorbed by the Santa Fe System. The railroad was completed at Wichita in May, 1872 and the town's commercial enterprises responded by "reaching out to it", thus developing Douglas Avenue to this location. The Stock Pens, three blocks to the southeast, were visible from this point. From there thousands of cattle were shipped to the Eastern markets from the Chisholm Trail. The original depot was located on the north side of Douglas Avenue where the overpass is today. In 1883, a mule-drawn streetcar system was established along Douglas Avenue terminating at the depot. The "drummers" (hotel runners), who rode the cars were always trying to outdo each other by hollering the virtues of their respective hotels to passengers on the cars. The slow-moving cars passed this location on Douglas Avenue. Two "fancy" hotels of note were adjacent to this land. The Carey, larger of the two, was located across the street west, with the Tremont across the street south on William Street. St. Francis was originally named Fourth Avenue, later changed to Tremont after the historic hotel. After the Tremont was razed, a "Red Light" District began to flourish along Tremont Avenue from the railroad trade. Later, the city council took action to regain respectability for the area by renaming the avenue St. Francis after its counterpart to the north. Cary Nation's famous temperance raid on the Carey Hotel bar occurred on the morning of December 27, 1900, and has contributed to the rich history of this area.