From 1720 until 1850s, there grounds were the center of church life for local Baptists. On Sundays, the churchyard would be alive with carriages and buggies as families came together to worship. A long carriage shed once stood west of the lane that approaches the Meeting House.
The oldest part of the cemetery lies directly east of the Meeting House, extending to the northern tree line. Many of the older graves are unmarked or marked with field fieldstones with no visible inscriptions. The oldest dated graves are those of John Saltar (1723) and his father-in-law Elisha Lawrence (1724).
The cemetery contains approximately sixty graves dated prior to 1800. Many of these early headstones are decorated with poignant inscriptions and folk-art that reflect the Colonial American experience and deeply held beliefs of these early Baptist settlers. This site is on the National Register of Historic Places.
(Inscription under the drawing in the center) The Friends of the Old Yellow Meeting House was founded in 1975 to assure the preservation, care, and appropriate use of this Historic Site.
|Marker Condition||No reports yet|
|Date Added||Monday, December 8th, 2014 at 9:04am PST -08:00|
|UTM (WGS84 Datum)||18T E 544847 N 4446692|
|Decimal Degrees||40.16940000, -74.47330000|
|Degrees and Decimal Minutes||N 40° 10.164', W 74° 28.398'|
|Degrees, Minutes and Seconds||40° 10' 9.84" N, 74° 28' 23.88" W|
|Driving Directions||Google Maps|
|Closest Postal Address||At or near 84 Yellow Meetinghouse Rd, Upper Freehold NJ 08514, US|
|Alternative Maps||Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap|
Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.