On this site was located "Old Main," a landmark of Ferris Institute in its early years. From its dedication in January 1894 until its loss by fire in February 1950, "Old Main" helped create many happy memories for thousands of "Fi's." Preparation for life and for making a living, combined with the influence of compassionate teachers, gave alumni pride in the unique mission of the institution which became Ferris State College. In this building the traditional "morning exercises" were held. While the fire which destroyed "Old Main" marked the end of an era, it also heralded the re-birth of the college in new facilities but dedicated anew to the principles of the founder.
Constructed of brick from "Old Main," this monument was presented to Ferris State College June 15, 1969, by the Class of 1919 and other interested alumni and friends.