Several general mercantile businesses occupied this corner before the Muncy Banking Company organized and opened its doors for business in 1893.Dial and Discover Muncy's Walking
The name was officially changed to The Muncy Bank and Trust Company in 1962 and it remains a community owned bank.
The historic photo of the bank, at right, was taken following the 1936 flood.
Just down the street, you'll find the Fort Brady Hotel. The original section was built circa 1810 as a private residence and is toward the rear of the property.
Its next owner, Robert Risk, capitalized on the canal era when he converted the property into a hotel that he managed until 1860.
The Risk family built two substantial homes on North Main Street - No. 28 and No. 106.
The Fort Brady, in the background of the photo at right, also was known as the Franklin Hotel, the United States Hotel, the Crawford Hotel and the New Crawford Hotel.
The Opera House and The Ritz
In 1913, Frank Fahnestock bought the Opera House, which was located just around the corner on East Water Street, for his pool hall and movie house.
Ten years later, his new theater, the Ritz, with its electric piano, opened with the "Queen of Sheba," playing to a sellout crowd. The theater showed its first talking vaudeville picture in April 1929.
(579) 308-3003 Stop #103