The Deer Park Spring, originally known as the Fresh Water Spring, was tubed in 1876 when the Congress and Empire Spring Water Company improved the southern end of Congress Park. At that time, the pond and surrounding area included an enclosed fence where tame deer were kept, hence the name of this part of the park as the "deer park."
This cast iron fountain was purchased from the Andrew Handyside Foundry in London, near the same time, and likely designed to emulate the Choragic Monument of Lysicrates, located in Athens, Greece. It is one of four in the world known to still be in good repair and service.
Drinking from the mineral springs was a social experience for visitors. Deer Park Spring's fresh water was a great alternative for those who wanted to participate in the "taking of the waters" but could not tolerate the taste or smell of potent mineral springs.
The fresh water source could not be maintained safely and has since been retapped. It now flows with a mineral source within Congress Park. The fountain was most recently restored in 2018.