Side A Camp Joy was born at the site of Seven Hills Neighborhood House and original location of St. Barnabas Episcopal Mission Church. Displacement and loss caused by Ohio River flood of 1937 inspired St. Barnabas' rector and his wife, Laurence "Cap" and Sadie Hall, to act on behalf of the children of Cincinnati's West End. The Halls conceived of Camp Joy as a haven where kids could find a respite from impoverished surroundings in the city and its sweltering summer heat. The camp was a success and continued after the Hall's assignment to another parish. From 1940-1944, Rev J. Brooke and Mrs. Betty Mosley continued to nurture the people of the West End through St. Barnabas and Camp Joy.
Side B In 1945, St. Barnabas Episcopal and the West Cincinnati Presbyterian churches merged to preserve both congregations, whose memberships were declining. Under Presbyterian pastor Maurice "Mac" McCrackin the newly merged congregation voted in 1947 to integrate and welcome its Black neighbors. The merger integrated Camp Joy, too, making both church and camp trailblazers for integration in the area. After moving several times, Camp Joy found a home on 317 acres in Warren County, west of Clarkesville (Clinton County) in 1959. In 2017, Camp Joy celebrated its eightieth anniversary and welcomes
more than 13,000 campers annually, including children facing medical challenges, in foster care, or enduring hardship. The camp also serves area schools by providing outdoor education programs and businesses by offering leadership and teambuilding retreats.