Ozark County

Ozark County (HM2LRJ)

Buy flags at Flagstore.com!

N 36° 36.201', W 92° 25.654'

  • 0 check ins
  • 0 favorites
County of magnificent scenery, in which extend both Bull Shoals and Norfolk lakes, Ozark was organized, 1841. Briefly called Decatur, 1843-45, it is the only county in the United States named for the nation's oldest mountainous region. The name comes from the French abbreviation Aux Arcs for Aux Arkansas, referring to Arkansas Indians. Until 1857, Ozark included a part of Howell and most of Douglas County.

Gainesville, where court was first held in 1860, succeeded old Rockbridge as the county seat when the county was reduced in size. Probably named for Gainesville, Ga., the town, founded on the eve of the Civil War, did not develop until the 1870's. In the war guerrilla bands raided the countryside.

Lake Norfolk, impounded 1943, by a dam on the North Fork of the White River in Ark., is bridged in the county at Tecumseh by a structure built in 1925 when North Fork flowed there. Bull Shoals Lake, formed in 1951 by White River dam in Ark., is named for Bull Mtn., and river shoals. Theodosia bridge was built, 1952, over the lake in the county where once ran Little North Fork.

A resort, livestock, and timber producing county, Ozark is in the 1808 Osage Indian land cession. Other tribes roamed the area into period of settlement by Southern pioneers in the 1830's. Bypassed in railroad building boom following

the Civil War, the county grew slowly. The virgin pine forest was lumbered off by early 1900's, and iron and zinc have been mined intermittently.

Among the many communities founded by the early 1900's are Bakersfield, Dora, Ocie, Romance, Nottinghill, Zanoni, Noble, Brixey, Hammond, Dugginsville, Elijah, Foil, Souder, Longrun, Howards Ridge, Wasola, Almartha, Hardenville, Sycamore, Thornfield, Wilhoit, Udall, Trail, Tecumseh, Pontiac, Isabella, and Theodosia (Lutie). Ozark County, by 1960, had more post offices, with 29, than any other county in Missouri.

In Ozark County are Aid-Hodgson and Dawt mills in scenic Bryant Creek valley; Zanoni Mill on Pine Creek; Rockbridge Mill on Spring Creek; and Caney Mtn. Wildlife Refuge. Part of the county lies in Mark Twain Natl. Forest founded in 1930's. Many Prehistoric mounds remain in the county.
Series This marker is part of the Missouri: State Historical Society of Missouri series
Year Placed1961
Placed ByState Historical Society of Missouri and State Highway Commission
Marker ConditionNo reports yet
Date Added Friday, October 11th, 2019 at 5:03pm PDT -07:00
Sorry, but we don't have a picture of this historical marker yet. If you have a picture, please share it with us. It's simple to do. 1) Become a member. 2) Adopt this historical marker listing. 3) Upload the picture.
Locationbig map
UTM (WGS84 Datum)15S E 551196 N 4051024
Decimal Degrees36.60335000, -92.42756667
Degrees and Decimal MinutesN 36° 36.201', W 92° 25.654'
Degrees, Minutes and Seconds36° 36' 12.06" N, 92° 25' 39.24" W
Driving DirectionsGoogle Maps
Closest Postal AddressAt or near , ,
Alternative Maps Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap

Is this marker missing? Are the coordinates wrong? Do you have additional information that you would like to share with us? If so, check in.

Nearby Markersshow on map
Check Ins  check in   |    all

Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.

Comments 0 comments

Maintenance Issues
  1. What country is the marker located in?
  2. What historical period does the marker represent?
  3. What historical place does the marker represent?
  4. What type of marker is it?
  5. What class is the marker?
  6. What style is the marker?
  7. Does the marker have a number?
  8. This marker needs at least one picture.
  9. Can this marker be seen from the road?
  10. Is the marker in the median?