On September 18, 1898, construction began on the Torrey log church, later used also as a school. Local settlers furnished labor, cash, and materials for this unique log structure with its steep hip roof, flared eaves, square bell tower on the entry side, and a pink sandstone foundation. On December 19, 1898, school opened in this 21 X 37 foot, one-room building for students of Torrey and the surrounding ranches. This multi-purpose building was used for dances and other activities, including civic, social, and religious meetings until two, red sandstone buildings were constructed, one for a school and one for a church. However, use of this original log building continued both by the LDS Church and the community until the 1970s.
In the fall of 1990, the Church deeded the old, log building to the local Daughters of Utah Pioneers, Camp Radiare, with the provision that it was to be moved from Church property. Since that date, the building has received major restoration and renovation. This one-of-a-kind structure will continue to be used for religious, civic, and educational functions.