You searched for City|State: atlanta, ga
Page 8 of 30 — Showing results 71 to 80 of 300
N. Fork Peachtree Creek. West of the road was the ante-bellum structure of a mill owned and operated by John Blake (1798-1854).
July 18, 1864. Blair's 17th A. C. of McPherson's Army of the Tennessee (US Flag), enroute from Roswell to Decatur,…
Siege operations on the Atlanta front having failed, the Federals moved against the 2 R. R. S. of it. Howard's Army of the Tenn., Thomas' Army of the Cumberland & Schofield's Army of the Ohio, struck the A. & W.P.R.R at this point.
July 22, 1864. Harrow's 4th div. (composed of Walcutt's, Oliver's & Williams' brigades), 15th A.C. [US] occupied this sector between Leggett's Hill & the Ga. R.R., which was the outer Confederate line until abandoned that morning.
In 1839 "Cousin John" Thrasher built a settlement called Thrasherville at this then forested site near the peg marking the planned terminus of the Western & Atlantic R. R. This railroad was later built by the State of Georgia to provide a link to …
This is the site of the worst hotel fire in U.S. history. In the predawn hours of December 7, 1946, the Winecoff Hotel fire killed 119 people. The 15-story building still stands adjacent to this marker. At the time, this building had neither fire …
Fulton County was created out of DeKalb County by an Act of the Legislature approved December 20, 1853 (as amended and corrected by the Act of February 7, 1854). The City of Atlanta was made the County Seat. From 1872 until 1932, parts of Milton a…
Some 400 ft. S. on this ridge stood the antebellum farm house of John A. Mann (1828-1904).
It is cited in reports & dispatches of the movement of the 4th A. C. [US] from Red Oak to the Macon R. R. at Rough & Ready. Aug. 30, 1864, the 4th A. C.,…
Aug. 30, 1864. Davis' 14th A. C. [US], having moved from Red Oak to Shoal Creek Ch., was divided into 2 columns when marching therefrom to the Fayetteville Rd. (Highway 139). Morgan's & Carlin's divs. went S. E. by a winding road to the Evans farm…
Where on July 18, 1864, the transfer of the command of the Army of Tennessee was made to General John B. Hood.
(On Separate Plaques:)
Restored by Atlanta Paper Co. 1955Restored by Mead Containerboard 1996
This is one of the original gas street lights of the town of West End.
Presented to the West End Business Men's Association by the family of Jesse M. Manry and placed on the grounds of the Wren's Nest for perpetual care