Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: baird, tx

Showing results 1 to 10 of 26
The Texas and Pacific Railway arrived December 4, 1880 and the town of Baird came to be. A burial ground was soon needed so 10 acres were reserved by E.H. Newton in 1881 and in 1887. Those 10 acres were deeded by James Evans Ross, thus the name &q…
Veteran of San Jacinto · Officer in the Confederate Army · Born in Indiana, May 16, 1816 · Died at Baird, Texas, July 31, 1899
Planted on April 26, 2003, this oak tree is a direct offspring from the famous Treaty Oak in Austin, Texas where Stephen F. Austin is reputed to have signed the treaty establishing the boundary between the Native Americans and the first Anglo sett…
The Baird area was the mid-point of the first all weather two land highway from Savannah, Ga. To San Diego, California. The Naval Division Branch connected Washington D.C. to Norfolk, Virginia. Named for Alabama Senator John Hollis Bankhead, th…
County Organized July 3, 1877 Named for James H. Callahan Ranger Captain and Indian Fighter
Dedicated to the Memory Of Those Men Who Gave Their Lives in the Service Of Their County to Preserve Our Freedom Sponsored by Baird Rebekah Lodge No. 112 Erected by Mr. & Mrs. W.J. Cross World War I Thomas H. Aiken · Benja…
Camp Pecan C.S.A. This Civil War camp of the Texas Frontier Regiment was located 21 mi. southeast. Established in 1862 as one of a line of posts a days horseback ride apart. The number of men guarding the frontier were few. Trouble came from a…
The county seat moved from Belle Plain to Baird in 1883, and a courthouse, designed by noted architect F.E. Ruffini, was built at this site. The county hired another noted architect, J. Riely Gordon, in 1900 for a larger courthouse; J.E. Flanders …
Formed from Bexar Territory Created February 1, 1858 Recreated August 21, 1876 Organized July 3, 1877 Named in Honor of James H. Callahan, 1812-1856 Soldier in the Texas Revolution Captain of the Texas Rangers County Seat, Callahan Cit…
Built 1878, Belle Plaine. Baird citizens paid bill for removal here, 1883, after election contest. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1965