You searched for City|State: charles town, wv
Page 3 of 6 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 54
In honor and memoryof the men and womenof Jefferson Countywho served their countryin World War II· 1701 served · 31 died ·
In honor and memoryof the Confederate soldiers ofJefferson County, who served in theWar Between the States.
Jefferson County, Virginiaplaced this stone originallyin a schoolhousenear Shepherdstownas a tribute to? · John Yates · ?The founder of theFree School System in this county
Moved to its present location1937.
[ Lower Marker: ]Jo…
Union General Philip Sheridanused this home as his headquartersduring the Civil War. On the 17th ofSeptember, 1862 Sheridan met Gen.U.S. Grant here to plan the 1864Shenandoah Valley Campaign.
The present church, the fourth on this site, was completed in 1851. Federal troops occupied it during the Civil War and severely damaged it.
The churchyard contains the graves of many Washington family descents. They are buried near the eastern…
Edge Hill Cemetery contains the graves of Fontaine Beckham and John Avis, two participants in the saga of John Brown's Raid in October 1859. Beckham was the mayor of Harpers Ferry then and one of four civilian casualties. Ironically, though John B…
Jefferson County's association with significant events in Civil War history began in October 1859, when abolitionist John Brown raided the U.S. Arsenal at Harpers Ferry. Quickly captured, Brown and his followers were brought here to Charles Town a…
The Federal offensive in the Shenandoah Valley began in May 1864 faltered in the summer with Confederate victories and Gen. Jubal A. Early's Washington Raid in July. Union General Philip H. Sheridan took command in August, defeated Early at Winche…
This is where seven men were hanged in December 1859 and March 1860 for their part in John Brown's Raid on Harpers Ferry. The scaffold stood here in a large field.
A month after the trial, on December 2, 1859, John Brown was the first to die. H…
Old Stone HouseStar Lodge No. 1 and Queen of the Valley Lodge No. 1558, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, two African-American fraternal organizations, bought Old Stone House in 1885. Star Lodge sole owner since 1927. One of oldest extant building…