You searched for City|State: clarksville, tn
Showing results 1 to 10 of 48
First settler of Clarksville Tenn.
and his four sons
three of whom were killed in 1792
and one in 1794 by the Indians
and to other pioneers
of this county
who lost their lives in this manner.
The Town of Cumberland (1810-1843) was sited at the, confluence of the Cumberland and Red Rivers as a projected river port for farming communities north of the Red River. It began as a keelboat landing slightly up the Red River to serve the origin…
In the 1780s, the first land grant of 640 acres was made for this area north of the Red River. The stretch of the Cumberland River from Red River Landing to Trice's Landing played a crucial role in the region's economic development. Local farmers …
The Arlington Hotel, a three story brick building built in 1887, once occupied the northeast corner of this parking garage, fronting on North Second Street. Streetcars passed this modern hotel every fifteen minutes and porters from the Arlington, …
When the war began, the South had few ironworks capable of producing cannons. Confederate Chief of Ordnance Josiah Gorgas noted that "we were not making a gun, a pistol nor a sabre, no shot nor shell." Soon, however, Clarksville's Whitfield, Bradl…
The Spur Line Park was conceived to preserve and enhance
a portion of a historic area within the city and interpret its unique
connection with rail and water transportation. The development of
railroad and river commerce was essential to the…
Dedicated to those patriots who lit the flame of freedom with their lives and to those who continue to fuel the flame with selfless sacrifice and service to our country. May this light lead them home.
Founded by the Tennessee Freedman's Bureau. St. John Missionary Baptist Church was established in 1866 on the corner of Ford and St. John Street in a small house with a small congregation of formerly enslaved persons. Its first pastor, Henry Wilco…
In 1812 pioneer preachers Peter Cartwright, Henry B. Bascom, and Thomas A. Morris preached to area settlers in a log structure at this site. Tradition has it that the Bell Witch attended a service here and at a meeting later that night quoted the …
In the early 1920's, the area from Public Square to Second Street known as Strawberry Alley, was widened and extended to Third Street and the area designated Legion Street to honor the veterans of World War I. In 2008, under the leadership of Mayo…