Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: fort smith, ar

Page 5 of 6 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 52
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13FO_the-parade-grounds_Fort-Smith-AR.html
For more than thirty years during the mid-1800s, soldiers drilled on the large parade ground before you. Flanked by the officer's quarters to the right and the enlisted men's barracks on the left, the parade ground was the center of life at the fo…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13DM_deputy-u-s-marshal-bass-reeves_Fort-Smith-AR.html
This statue was erected in 2012 as a result of growing awareness of the extraordinary service of Bass Reeves, an African-American former slave who became a highly respected Deputy U.S. Marshal. The deeds of African-American and Native American law…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13DL_bass-reeves-lawman-on-the-western-frontier_Fort-Smith-AR.html
Bass Reeves, a slave born in Arkansas and reared in Texas, rose to become one of the best known and effective deputy U.S. marshals to ride out of Fort Smith for Judge Isaac C. Parker. Recognized as one of the first African Americans commissioned a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13AE_miss-lauras_Fort-Smith-AR.html
This property has been placed on theNational Registerof Historic PlacesBy the United StatesDepartment of the InteriorArkansasHistoric PreservationProgramDepart of Arkansas Heritage
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13AD_old-federal-building_Fort-Smith-AR.html
The old part of the building was the Barracks of the Fort 1840-1871, Federal Court and Jail 1872-1887 presided over by Judge I.C. Parker, 1875-1887. Erected as a public service byThe Noon Civic Club
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13AC_old-commissary_Fort-Smith-AR.html
This building, on the N.W. Bastion of the wall, was the commissary of the Fort build in 1839. Used until 1871 when the fort was abandoned as a military post from 1861-65. It served as a hospital, guard house, and refuge, now a museum. Erected a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13AA_reynolds-davis-wholesale-grocery-company_Fort-Smith-AR.html
This facade is all the remains of the five story building occupied from 1907 to 1955 by Reynolds - Davis Wholesale Grocery Company. The building subsequently served Checker Transfer & Storage Company from 1957 thru 1988 as well as other tenants th…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13A9_the-fishback-block-in-1872_Fort-Smith-AR.html
In 1870, ground was broken for the three-story Fishback Block on the site of Jeremiah Kannady's blacksmith shop which manufactured Bowie knives for the Confederate Army. The builder, future Gov. William Meade Fishback (1831-1903), named the 7,000 …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13A8_w-j-murphy-eads-brothers-building-in-1903_Fort-Smith-AR.html
The first mention of this property is from 1838 when it was part of the brickyard that manufactured bricks to build the second Fort Smith. In 1877 the City Hotel was built here. In 1897, identical buildings were constructed to house the W.J. Murph…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM13A7_union-occupation-of-fort-smith_Fort-Smith-AR.html
On Sept. 1, 1863, U.S. troops under Gen. James Blunt seized Ft. Smith. It remained a Union post for the duration of the war. Fort Smith became a haven for white war refugees and former slaves, many of whom joined the Union army. Fort Smith troops …
PAGE 5 OF 6