You searched for City|State: hackensack, nj
Page 3 of 5 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 44
? ? Archibald Campbell - 1730 - 12/28/1798, age 68. Born on the Isle of Man, came to Hackensack in 1765. Tavern keeper, host to General George Washington. Hackensack's first Postmaster. Exemplary in all the duties of life, a compassionate husband…
In memory ofthe millions killed in the holocaust1939 - 1945
Bergen County Board of FreeholdersDoris Mahalick, DirectorD. Bennett MazurGerald A. Calabrese · Joseph Carucci, Jr. · John F. Curran · Harry J. Gerecke · Je…
In remembrance of theArmenian Genocide1915 - 1923where 1,500,000 innocentArmenians were massacredby the Ottoman Turks.
Dedicated July 8, 1990
In memory of the millions of Irish people lost to imposed starvation, death and forced emigration by the English government.Bergen County Council of Irish AssociationsNovember 25, 1995
In memory of the millions of African people who perished during the middle passage, suffered the horrors of slavery, and endured the inhumanity of racial segregation.
We also remember the heroes who have struggled and continue to work for freed…
In honor ofThe Huguenotson the Hackensack1677———————-Erected byThe Society of Colonial Warsin the State of New Jersey1942
The Bergen County Jail is an impressive and oppressive building. It has a cruciform plan with a castellated exterior, marked by a heavily corbelled battlement and a squat central octagonal tower. Its fortress style of architecture, a prototype of …
The first house built in the City of Hackensack was that of Dr. Van Emburgh (1686) located along a creek at the rear of the Court House. Early settlers had huts on this creek where they traded furs with the Indians.
Hackensack became the County Seat of Bergen in 1709.The name "Bergen" was probably from "Bergen Op Zoom," a major town in Holland.
Peter Zabriskie built a home here in 1751 which contained fine appointments including Dutch tile fireplaces depicting biblical scenes. Enlarged in 1776, the home was called Mansion House later Mansion Hotel. The structure was demolished in 1945.