Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: knoxville, tn

Page 9 of 11 — Showing results 81 to 90 of 102
Marble Springs was the farmstead of John Sevier. Tennessee's first governor (1796-1801 and 1803-1809). While Sevier used the farm as a retreat where he entertained guests, it was originally a frontier station used by immigrants on the trace from t…
Fort Dickerson to the west and Fort Stanley to the east were the center two of four fortified heights held by the Federals south of the river during the siege of Knoxville, Nov. 17-Dec. 4, 1863. Maj. Gen. Jos. Wheeler C.S.A., made a vain effort to…
This Federal work was a major factor in the defense of Knoxville against Lt. Gen. Longstreet's assault in November, 1863. The fort and neighboring hills were manned by the 2nd Brigade(Cameron), 3rd Div., XXIII Corps, which repulsed by fire Wheeler…
Built in 1792, this was one of the first frame houses west of the Alleghenies. It served as both the residence of William Blount, Governor of the Territory South of the River Ohio, and as capitol of that territory, now the State of Tennessee. Born…
One mile south, Charles McClung erected his brick homeabout 1806. McClung laid out the city of Knoxville in 1791 on the site of White's Fort, was on the committee to draft Tennessee's first Constitution. and was a charter trustee of Blount College…
About 1/2 mile north was this early fortified settlement. Here on Sept 25, 1793, Alexander Cavett and 12 other settlers were massacred by a Cherokee war party under Doublehead, one of the more savage chiefs of the tribe.
About 3 miles NW, on Plumb Creek, Nicholas Ball, trapper and Long Hunter, established a camp which was used by westbound emigrants. Several years after founding this camp he was killed by Indians near Wells Station, Dec 23 1793.
Site ofFort AdairBuild in 1788 byJohn AdairRevolutionary SoldierUsed as depot of suppliesfor the early settlers. Erected byBonny Kate ChapterDaughters of theAmerican Revolution1924
(Front):Fountain CityUnited Methodist ChurchFounded in 1825In 1824, E.F. Sevier, grandson of Gov. John Sevier, came to this area as a Methodist circuit rider. By 1825, a plot of ground was secured and Fountain Head became a "preaching place." A lo…
Established in 1788, this fort was used as a depot of supplies for the Cumberland Guard, the militia organization which supplied armedprotection for parties of emigrantsto the Cumberland Settlements,later the town of Nashborough,now Nashville
PAGE 9 OF 11