You searched for City|State: lambertville, nj
Showing results 1 to 10 of 19
The outlet lock at this location was built to allow canal boats to pass between the Delaware & Raritan Canal and Pennsylvania's Delaware Canal. Canal boats loaded with coal from the Lehigh Valley would come down the Lehigh Canal to Easton, Pennsyl…
In 1778, during the Revolution, the Township of West Amwell had the colonial road used by the Grand Continental Army under the command of General George Washington enroute to the battle at Monmouth, NJ. This section of the Bungtown Road is in its …
Howell Living History Farm depicts family farm life during the first years of the 20th Century, when both crops and livestock, were raised from livelihood. The farmhouse on the property, while dating back to the early 1800's, is used to illustrate…
Built in 1870 and occupied by the Holcombe family until 1922, the A.H. Holcombe House was purchased by the city of Lambertville in 1950 to serve as City Hall. It is one of the earliest and best examples of the French Second Empire style in Lambert…
Used during the Revolutionary War by both Gen. George Washington and British Gen. Charles Cornwallis to view opposing activity up & down the river. This local promontory has long since been known as Washington's Rock.
First section built about 1733. Washington stayed here, July, 1777, and June 1778, prior to battles of Germantown and Monmouth.
From about 1817 to 1834, home of James Wilson Marshall, who discovered gold at Sutter's Mill in California in 1848.
Washington's army left Valley Forge in 1777 and moved northeast. They crossed the Delaware at Coryell's Ferry (Lambertville), remained for two days, then marched along today's Rte.518 on their way to the Battle of Monmouth on June 28th.
Designed by noted Philadelphia architect Edwin Forrest Durand, the church was built in 1865 by Cornelius Arnett. An 1895 renovation added the rounded arch entrance as well as second level stained glass windows. The church contributes to the signif…
Now non-denominational, this church was organized by Methodists in 1774 & built in 1843.