Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: lynchburg, va

Page 2 of 12 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 113
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1EO5_gravemarkers-in-the-old-city-cemetery_Lynchburg-VA.html
A Project Sponsored by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and Public Policy and the Southern Memorial Association Special thanks to the following people, who contributed to the research and design of this exhibit:James Deetz · Ge…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1EO4_cemetery-caretakers_Lynchburg-VA.html
The first official caretaker of the cemetery was hired by the City of Lynchburg in 1866. He was paid $100 a year, and was only responsible for the care of the Confederate section. Over the years the role of the caretaker expanded to include …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1EO3_the-carl-porter-cato-rose-collection_Lynchburg-VA.html
These roses have reached their final resting place! Originally, they were in the rose collection of nationally recognized rosarian Carl Porter Cato (1913-1996) of Lynchburg. Through many years, he had salvaged cuttings or entire plants from som…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ENW_life-and-death_Lynchburg-VA.html
Life? Hundreds of people buried in this cemetery were employed by the railroad industry. The railroad's contributions to Lynchburg's economy were extraordinary, and it was a major employer in the city between 1850 and 1920. Railroads employed p…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ENR_lynchburg-virginia-1864_Lynchburg-VA.html
This map shows Lynchburg during the Civil War Battle of Lynchburg, June 1864. The "Public Burying Ground," also known as the Old Methodist Cemetery or Old City Cemetery, was located at the edge of town. By 1860 three major railroad lines termin…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ENQ_history-of-the-stapleton-station_Lynchburg-VA.html
1898 Station built by Chesapeake & Ohio Railway for $366.59, based on C&O "Standard Station No. 2" design. 1929 C&O Railway made the Station a non-agency station (without an agent) and discontinued its telegraph office. Passengers and freigh…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ENK_when-lynchburg-was-lunchburg_Lynchburg-VA.html
During the First World War, many people across the country knew Lynchhurg as "Lunchburg." The City earned this nickname because of its famous Red Cross Canteen Service to soldiers traveling by train through Lynchburg. From 1917 to I919, dedicated …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ENJ_college-hill-reservoir-water-pitcher_Lynchburg-VA.html
The cast-iron pitcher was made by Glamorgan foundry of Lynchburg and given to the city in October 1890 for use at the College Hill Reservoir. Shortly after installation, the local newspaper praised the pitcher as "a handsome and striking ornament"…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ENI_iron-fencing_Lynchburg-VA.html
This cast-iron fence, now surrounding the Earley Memorial Shrub Garden, originally enclosed College Hill Reservoir, located only a few blocks away on Park Ave. It was installed there in 1878 when the city had outgrown the old Clay Street Reservoir…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ENH_ivy-chapel-union-church_Lynchburg-VA.html
Ivy Chapel Union Church was built in I880 on Coffee Road in Bedford County, Virginia. The chapel was named for nearby Ivy Creek. It was known as a "union church" because it served as a house of worship for Baptist, Methodist, and Episcopalian cong…
PAGE 2 OF 12