Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: lynchburg, va

Page 7 of 12 — Showing results 61 to 70 of 113
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10VJ_lynchburg-history_Lynchburg-VA.html
This area became known as Court House Hill when the first courthouse was built here in 1813. The district contains a variety of architectural styles and notable churches, as well as the city's 1855 Old Court House, now the Lynchburg Museum. There …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10VI_lynchburg-history_Lynchburg-VA.html
Horseford Road is named for the nearby ford that Virginia Indians and early settlers used to cross the James River. During the 19th century, this area was home to tobacco factories, flour mills, and iron foundries. The large red brick building to …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10VH_lynchburg-history_Lynchburg-VA.html
Monument Terrace, completed in 1925, links Church Street with Court Street via 132 steps and 10 landings. The bronze statue, The Listening Post, created by Charles Keck, commemorates Lynchburg's World War I dead. Several other memorials have been …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10VF_lynchburg-history_Lynchburg-VA.html
The James River originates in the mountains to the west and flows through Lynchburg and Richmond before reaching the Chesapeake Bay. In 1757, the Lynch family built a ferry across the James River ahead of you at the foot of this hill; today, the L…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10VD_lynchburg-confederate-soldiers-monument_Lynchburg-VA.html
(front)1861—1865Our Confederate Soldiers(rear)Erected by theDaughters of the ConfederacyofLynchburg, Virginiain 1899,to commemorate the heroismof our Confederate Soldiers(side)Kirk Wood Otey Chapter U.D.C.(side)Old Dominion Chapter U.D.C.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10UU_abram-frederick-biggers-and-biggers-school_Lynchburg-VA.html
Abram Frederick Biggers (1838 - 1879), a lawyer by profession, was appointed the first superintendent of the Lynchburg and Campbell County schools in 1870. As a part of his effort to build a strong system, Biggers toured northern states to study t…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10US_safe-haven-in-lynchburg-project-y_Lynchburg-VA.html
In 1951, the National Gallery of Art established a secret emergency repository (Code named Project Y) for its distinguished collection of art on the campus of Randolph-Macon Woman's College. The specially designed reinforced concrete building, sit…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10UR_pearl-s-buck_Lynchburg-VA.html
Internationally known author and humanitarian Pearl Sydenstricker Buck (1892-1973) graduated in 1914 from Randolph-Macon Women's College, where she wrote for the college's literary magazine. She was the author of more than 70 books, many of which …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10UQ_randolph-macon-womans-college_Lynchburg-VA.html
Founded by Dr. William Waugh Smith in 1891 and opened in 1893 as a member of the Randolph-Macon System of Educational Institutions, this liberal arts college has been recognized from its opening year for its high standards of scholarship. The scen…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM10UN_miller-claytor-house_Lynchburg-VA.html
This building formerly stood at Eighth and Church streets. It now stands one block north. It was built by John Miller about 1791. Thomas Wiatt bought the house, long known as the "Mansion House." Samuel Claytor purchased it in 1825. For many years…
PAGE 7 OF 12