You searched for City|State: noblesville, in
Page 2 of 3 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 27
The long-standing carriage & wagon manufactory of Heylmann & Sons had its beginnings here. Built in 1872, it is one of downtown's oldest remaining structures. A facade remodeling in 1918 updated it for a new tenant, the gas company.
J. Frank Becker built the "Becker House" in 1884 and used it as a bakery, restaurant, and boarding house. John Dietrich bought the property in 1905, calling it the Grand Hotel which had a "fireplace in every room."
This three-unit block was built in 1884 by H. M. Caylor as a dry goods store. Typical of Victorian Gothic style, second-story details feature decorative arched stonework around the windows and the Corbel table bearing the Caylor name.
Built in the 1870s by the Bachman family, this building housed a bookstore, clothier and cigar store in the 1800s. In the 1900s, several restaurants were here, including the "Billy Bee Restaurant" in 1929 and 1930.
This brick structure was built as two buildings in the late 1880s. Around 1920 they were modified with the single facade. Occupants included a hardware store, pool hall, and the New York Store Company, a large department store.
The Wild building was built in 1880 by Leonard Wild, the "merchant prince and largest builder of his home city". Designed by Huebner and Mueller of Indianapolis, it housed Wild's dry goods store for more than 15 years.
This was the site of the old Corner Drug Store, a three story building & popular gathering spot, which stood from c.1850 until it was razed in 1914. The present structure was then built & continued as a drugstore until 1995.
Built in 1867 and rebuilt in 1887, this building has continously held dry goods stores: 1898-1920, C. W. Sowerwine; 1920-1925, Osbon Dry Goods; c.1925-1981, Willits Department Store; 1982-2001, Watson's Carpet.
Built c. 1870, this building once housed the City Theater on the third floor and the local newspaper on the second. Purchased by Masonic Lodge No. 57 in 1884, and updated with a stepped gable, it was home to the Masons until 1915.
The Joseph Block was built by two wealthy brothers, Julius and Louis Joseph, around 1900. It first housed a furniture and hardware store and later the House of Crane, a popular cigar shop and pool hall until 1928.