You searched for City|State: san diego, ca
Page 4 of 14 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 140
1847 First fire-brick structure in San Diego. Constructed by Mormon Battalion.
1849 Headquarters of the U.S. Boundary Commission
1850 Served as courthouse, church, school, and polling place over next two decades.
Sergeant John Basilone was one of the first enlisted Marines to be awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor of World War II. He was also posthumously awarded the Navy Cross.
He was born to Italian immigrants, Salvatore and Dora Basilone, in Buffa…
Hurriedly built in two months by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) for $25,000 in 1936, this wooden, green painted and later termite-infested ballpark was the original home of the Pacific Coast League (PCL) San Diego Padres. The breeze that …
Has been designated a
This site possesses national significance
in commemoration the history of the
United States of America
1st United States Dragoons
Sergent. John Cox · Corporl William. C. West · Private George Ashmead · Private Joseph T. Campbell · Private Williamm. Dalton · Private John Dunlop · Priv…
whose members made the longest military march in U.S. History of over 2000 miles from Iowa to San Diego in 1846 - 1847 during the war with Mexico.
Albert Warren Dunham
Private - Company B
23 May 1828 - 11 May 1847
Lydia Ann Edmunds Hunter…
From around 1860 to the early 1890's, the Chinese had a fishing village at this site along the La Playa Trail. The village had ten shanties, drying racks and salting tanks. At the shore was a shipbuilding facility where Chinese junks were construc…
The Post chapel served Fort Rosecrans in World War II, the Korean War and continues to serve the U.S. Navy.
This boulder erected November 12, 1932 by Court San Diego de Alcalá, No. 1099 of the Catholic Daughters of America, to commemorate the first Holy Mass celebrated in California, November 12, 1602 upon the arrival on this site of Sebastián Vizcaí…
President Millard Fillmore's executive order of 1852 created a U. S. Preserve on Point Loma. From 1870 to 1873 the coast artillery corpsmen evicted whalers from the site in order to begin the military installation. In 1899 it was named for William…