You searched for City|State: santa barbara, ca
Showing results 1 to 10 of 21
In 1876, a visiting sailor presented the seedling of this Moreton Bay Fig Tree to a little girl who planted it at 201 State Street. When the girl moved away a year later, her friend Adeline Crabb relocated the sapling to the location before you.
The Hotel Virginia at 17 West Haley Street was originally built in 1916 as a two-story brick hotel by Charles Maas, with a third story addition in 1925. Haley at this time was a residential street with small redwood homes set on large lots. The co…
Constructed in 1849 by Don José de la Guerra, this adobe was originally used to house supplies brought in from ships anchored in the harbor.
Don Gaspar Oreña bought the adobe and added the story-and-a-half portion in 1858, shortly after…
An adobe house was built here in 1857 where Don Agustin Janssens, a Belgian, and his wife, Maria Antonia Pico, lived into the 1870s. Janssens, a frequent office holder in the region, had arrived in California in 1834. Don Bruno F. Orella, a native…
This memorial honors the residents of Santa Barbara County, who as members of the United States Armed Forces, died in the service of their country in peace and in war.
473 Santa Barbara County residents are known to have made the ultimate sacr…
Santa Barbara Airport Terminal is hereby named Earle Ovington Terminal in recognition of his outstanding contributions to aviation and his part in the development of aviation in Santa Barbara.
Earle Ovington was the first pilot to carry air mai…
Built in 1856 bySenora Ordaz de Rochin withinthe confines of the presido - using adobe bricks and tilesfrom the presidio ruins.Now owned byLeontine Birabent Phelan,grandaughter of Senora Rochin.
In 1856 Senor Jose Maria Rochin purchased for $30 the first parcel of land sold within the presidio boundaries.
"1st day of October 1856, between the mayor and common council of the city of Santa Barbara of the first part and Jose Maria Rochin …
This tablet marks the southeasterly boundary of the Santa Barbara Presidio founded in 1782 by Gov. Felipe de Neve and Capt. Jose Francisco Ortega in command of fifty soldiers accompanied by Fray Junipero Serra who dedicated the site.
This old stagecoach road was used by all trafficuntil the Cold Springs Arches Bridgewas built in 1963.