Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: sutter creek, ca

Page 3 of 5 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 44
Leland Stanford acquired the Union Mine in 1859 for debt. He formed a partnership with R. C. Downs and renamed it the Lincoln Mine. The Lincoln Mine produced $2,200,000. in gold by 1873, he then sold it to the British Syndicate for $800,000. …
Built in the 1870's, the Norton-Popovich home contains the city's first telephone, installed in 1896. Virgil Norton was postmaster of Sutter Creek from 1914 - 1931; son John was an engineer at Knight Foundry. The current owner's father, Sam Popovi…
In Memory of Forty-NinerWilliam Barker Hubbell1816 - 1894 Who built his building for aGeneral Store circa 1867Served as Justice of the Peace1888 - 1892
Associate of Leland Stanford, Pioneer, Miner, Legislator, Businessman. Sailed around Cape Horn on clipper ship Tahamaroo in 1849. Established the first deep quartz mine, The Union, with E.B. McIntyre, S. Hanford & N. Drew in 1851. Became Superinte…
This hotel is a member of the State of California 100 Year Club and was opened for business in 1860. Bellotti Inn is one of oldest hotels still in continuous operation serving travelers in the State of California. The earliest hotel opened on this…
Built of native greenstone by Bartolomeo Brignole for a general store. Operated by his family until 1944.
The front building built in 1860. The opera house was built on back in 1892 by John and Michael Levaggi, early pioneers and stone masons from Italy. Bricks used were kilned east of Sutter Creek and hauled to the site by twelve mule team. Amapola P…
Medical Offices, Surgery and Hospital ofDr. Philip Sheridan Goodman. (1867 - 1927).Office and surgery on ground floor, hospital upstairs.Miraculous and unconventional, a trueSutter Creek Character.
Learning was revered by Sutter Creek citizens whose school stands as an historic proof of the belief in education.
Erected circa 1860 by Theresa and Constantino Botto. Originally a Granary. Saloon for Central Eureka Miners Through the 1920's. Second Wood Story Torn Down in the 1980's. Placed by Janet Friedberg, Botto Descendent. Amador County Sesquicentenni…