You searched for City|State: tangier, va
Page 4 of 5 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 47
For almost 250 years the people of Tangier have wrested a living and a lifestyle from the waters that surround them. Most of their days have been occupied with family, work, church, and the other normal pursuits in which we all engage. But they ha…
In April 1814, during the war of 1812, British
forces commanded by Adm. Sir George Cockburn
established Fort Albion on the southern tip of
Tangier Island. The fort, which included barracks
a hospital, a church, parade grounds, and gardens,
Joshua Thomas (1776-1853) became a skilled waterman
from the in his youth and ferried clergymen
from the mainland to the islands of the
He converted to Methodism
about 1807, was licensed as an exhorter (or lay preacher)
The Telephone Building was built in
1966 by Grover Charnock when
radiotelephones were finally replaced
with a microwave tower.
In front of this is a new home, built on
the site of the former Grand Theater,
built in 1929 by Gordon Daley, an…
The island was visited in 1608 by Captain John Smith, who gave it the name. A part was patented by Ambrose White in 1670. It was settled in 1686 by John Crockett and his sons' families. In 1814, it was the headquarters of a British fleet ravaging …
The most prominent of the island's buildings, Swain Memorial United Methodist Church is easily recognized as the focal point of Tangier.
Built in 1899 on the site of the island's second church (1842), it is the center of the Tangier's religious…
The Connorton House was the home of the town Sergeant, Bud Connorton.
On Sunday April 11, 1920, Sergeant Connorton shot and wounded 17 year old Roland Parks. He was trying to enforce a town ordinance that forbade "loafing on store porches and s…
The Peter Dise House is one of the oldest on the island and was moved from the "Uppards," the now unoccupied marsh north of the harbor.
There were originally four fresh water wells on the island, two on Maine Ridge, one on Canton Ridge and one …
The famous Chesapeake House occupies two old island homes. Hilda Crockett opened the business in 1944 in the Peter Crockett House with four guest rooms and a dining room on the porch. She expanded by purchasing the Nathan Rayfield House where the …
The Doctor's House was owned consecutively by doctors Samuel Oglesby, William Daisey, Bache Gill, and Charles Gladstone. Dr. Gladstone never lived there, but boarded next door in the Sidney Crockett House.
Dr. Gladstone's former office still fa…