You searched for City|State: tuscaloosa, al
Page 6 of 9 — Showing results 51 to 60 of 85
Erected: 1888 Reconstructed: 2002Designed by Montgomery architect W. A. Crossland and named for noted professor and state geologist Michael Tuomey.
Tuomey's survey resulted in the landmark 1849 geological map of Alabama and his work began the G…
The Gorgas House (1829)First structure built on the original campus
The Round House (1860)Used by cadets on guard duty, and another of the four buildings to survive the fires set by Federal troops in 1865.
Woods Hall (1868)First …
Built 1829 as University dining hall.Remodeled as a residence 1840.Occupied by Gorgas family 1879-1953(Reverse):Preserved as a memorial to:General Josiah Gorgas (1818-1883)Chief of Ordnance, C. S. A. 1861-1865President of the University 1878-1879
Named for John Tyler Morgan (1824-1907).
As U.S. Senator, Morgan led the 1882 campaign to obtain federal funds in reparation for the destruction of the University of Alabama campus by Union Troops in 1865.
A member of the Alabama Secession C…
Named for Alva Woods (1794-1887), First President of the University of Alabama, 1831-1837.
Constructed after the Civil War, this gothic revival structure was built of materials salvaged from the original campus, burned by Federal Troops in Apri…
Named for Braxton Bragg Comer (1848-1927), Governor of Alabama (1907-1911).
As a member of the University's Corp of Cadets in 1865, Comer witnessed the burning of the campus by Federal troops. Later, as Governor, he strongly supported education…
Built 1834 by James Dearing. Purchased by Arthur P. Bagby who occupied the house 1837-41 while Governor of Alabama and since known as the Governor's Mansion. Presented to the University of Alabama 1944 by Herbert David Warner and Mildred Westervel…
Built in 1827 three blocks east on Broad Street. Stage stop and inn frequented by many political leaders while Tuscaloosa was State Capital. Moved to Capitol Park, 1966.
The Capitol in Tuscaloosa was designed by English-born architect, William Nichols, who served as State Architect from 1826 - 1832. Nichols also designed and built the campus of The University of Alabama. Before coming to Alabama he had remodeled t…
To identify their work masons often carved special marks into the bottom, sides, or back of the stones. Their supervisors were thus able to distinguish between the quality and quantity of each mason's work. Blocks for the building were quarried fr…