Historical Marker Search

You searched for Country: ie

Page 3 of 14 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 140
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CY9_the-bog-an-portach_Fairfax-Donegal.html
The principal fuel for heating homes in this area has always been turf, which is cut out of the bog. Cutting the turf begins around April or May when wet sods are spread on the surface to begin drying. These are then 'footed' into small piles to d…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CXO_fishing-iascaireacht_Cusseta-Donegal.html
The sea has always been a central part of the lives of the people who live in this area. Fishing once provided an important source of income for many local families. However, today the industry is in steady decline. Donegal Bay, once busy with boa…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CXA_farming-on-sliabh-liag-feirmeoireacht-ar-shliabh-liag_La-Grange-Donegal.html
Local farmers use the cliffs of Sliabh Liag as a grazing area for sheep. Hardy varieties of sheep suited to harsh mountain environments are raised to produce wool which was traditionally woven locally to produce the world famous Donegal Tweeds. …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CWO_donegal-friary-mainistir-dhun-na-ngall_Donegal.html
Donegal Friary was founded for the Franciscan Friars in 1474 by the first Red Hugh O'Donnell and his wife Nuala O'Brien. It survived until it was plundered by the English in 1588. Four years later, they in turn were driven out by the second Red Hu…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CWG_the-franciscan-friary-of-donegal_Fairfax-Donegal.html
Founded 1474 and richly endowed by the Lady Nuala O'Connor and the Lady Nuala O'Brien, wives of successive O'Donnell chieftains. The Friary followed the usual Franciscan layout of church on the south side, with cloisters and conventual building…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CVO_donegal-castle-caislean-dhun-na-ngall_Donegal.html
Donegal Castle was built by Red Hugh O'Donnell, the young 'Eagle of the North', in the late 15th Century beside the River Eske. During the Plantation of Ulster that followed 'The Flight of the Earls' in 1607, the Castle, historic home of the O'Don…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CVN_donegal-castle_Jackson-Donegal.html
Built in 1474 by Hugh O'Donnell. Destroyed in 1595 by Red Hugh O'Donnell to prevent seizure by the British. Rebuilt circa 1614 by Sir Basil Brook. [Top view drawing showing evolution of the castle in] 15th century, 17th century, Modern
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CV3_the-cathedral-square_Letterkenny-Donegal.html
St. Eunan's CathedralWork began on Saint Eunan and Saint Colmcille's Catholic Cathedral in 1890. It was designed by William Hague. It is built of white stone from Mountcharles and cost ?300,000. The ceilings are the work of Amici of Rome, while th…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CV1_george-murbury_Letterkenny-Donegal.html
Founder of Letterkenny Townis buried in this graveyardNo. 276
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1CTF_gallaghers-cottage_Letterkenny-Donegal.html
At this point once stood the home place of the late Jimmy Gallagher, his wife and family. Jimmy who was an employee of the County Donegal Railway, was a guard on the Letterkenny to Strabane train, when on 11th August 1941, he was fatally injured i…
PAGE 3 OF 14