Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ny us

Page 6 of 22 — Showing results 51 to 60 of 216
The Brethren's Shop was used by the men and boys for various crafts including shoe making and tinsmithing. The porches and dormers were added in 1930 and the building is now used by Albany County as offices. A date stone in the basement is inscri…
This Toll Bridge Opened to the Public. May 18th 1880. Originated and Owned by Thoams A. Knickerbacker. Was Destroyed By Fire March 7, 1920.
Peebles Island State Park is located in the city of Cohoes (Albany County) and the village of Waterford (Saratoga County). Surrounded by the third and fourth branches of the Mohawk River, this 191-acre park includes Polrump, Goat, and Peebles Is…
There is abundant evidence of Indian occupation on Peebles and Van Schaick Islands. Hammerstones and projectile points have been discovered and suggest that early tribes lived in this area. Archeologists uncovered a number of early hearths here …
During the Revolutionary War, American troops camped on Van Schaick and Peebles Islands. Thaddaeus Kosciuszko, a prominent Polish engineer who aided the American cause, designed the earthworks that are visible today near the bridge to Waterford.…
A colonial ford across the Mohawk River from which Waterford derives its name. Site of the colonial Fort Half-Moon
Cluett, Peabody & Co., a Troy-based manufacturer of men's collars and shirts, purchased Peebles Island in 1909. The abundant water, existing rail lines, and proximity to the company's Troy factory made the island an ideal location for treating unf…
You are looking at the northern tip of Van Schaick Island. The Hudson River flows to the east, and the third and fourth branches of the Mohawk River flow around the rest of this rocky island. Dutch merchants Philip Pietersen Schuyler and Goosen G…
traveled this road on his tours of the Mohawk Valley 1782 and 1783.
Erected under direction of Thaddeus Koscuiszko in August-September 1777 to check Burgoyne's invasion
PAGE 6 OF 22