You searched for City|State|Country: , pa us
Page 5 of 6 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 59
Site of lots on which John Fraser and his wife established an inn and trading post in 1758. Fraser had been a guide and interpreter for Colonel Washington. The inn provided meals for army officers at Fort Raystown (Bedford).
(Front):To all her sons whovolunteered to defendand perpetuate thegovernment of theseUnited States, BedfordCounty dedicates thismonument July 4, A.D.1890
Erectedin part by the childrenof the Common Schoolsof Bedford County
This courthouse was built in the year 1828 by Solomon Filler. The year following it was used for court and office purposes.
This tablet marks the site of the First Court House and Prison Built in 1774In the prison yard around which was a high stone wall were The Pillory and Whipping Post used in those days for the punishment of criminals
Prior to the erection of thi…
The increased number of automobiles during the Lincoln Highway era (1912-1940) led to the development of programmatic architecture. Proprietors took daring approaches to appeal to the new motoring public.
All across the country, oversized build…
Settled about 1750, known then as Raystown. Site of an early trading post and Fort Bedford, 1758. Base for Forbes, Bouquet expeditions. In 1794 Washington here reviewed forces in Whiskey Rebellion.
The Bedford Springs Historic District consists of a mineral springs resort established c.1806 by Dr. John Anderson. The district's oldest extant buildings are the stone Nawgel's Mill, c.1796, and the log Miller's House, c.1800. In 1804, Nawgel sol…
Medicinal values of these springs discovered about 1796. It soon became a leading resort visited by numerous notables. James Buchanan used the Springs as his summer White House while President.
Formed on March 9, 1771 from Cumberland County, it first embraced most of western Pennsylvania. Named for its county seat (formerly Raystown) incorporated 1795. In 1758, Fort Bedford was erected here, and Forbes Road - to become a major highway we…
Built in 1815. East room housed the first bank in Bedford, known as the Allegheny Bank of Pennsylvania, from 1815 to 1832. Original vault can still be seen. Since 1924, used as public library and community center.