Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , tx us

Page 6 of 7 — Showing results 51 to 60 of 63
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJHG_louisa-adeline-addie-barton_Salado-TX.html
When Addie Barton (1858-1921) was seven years old, her parents, Dr. Welborn and Louisa Barton, moved to Salado so their children could attend Salado College. Upon graduation, Addie became a teacher. She felt called to become a missionary in 1883 a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJD6_first-baptist-church-of-salado_Salado-TX.html
A Baptist revival was held on the banks of Salado Creek as early as 1854. By about 1860, members of area Baptist, Methodist, Presbyterian and Church of Christ denominations were meeting in an ecumenical house of worship. Each group held an all-day…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJD5_salado-creek_Salado-TX.html
Gushing limestone springs, abundant fish, flowers, and trees have long made the banks of Salado Creek a good home site. Indians camped beside stream; Spanish explorers named it; the first Anglo-American settler was Archibald Willingham, 1851. …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJD4_main-street-bridges_Salado-TX.html
A number of bridges have been built over Salado Creek on Main Street since 1870. After the town of Salado was laid out in 1859, citizens crossed the creek using various combinations of rocks and logs. When local citizens and students at Salado Col…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJD3_stagecoach-inn_Salado-TX.html
Constructed during the 1860s, the Stagecoach Inn was known as Salado Hotel and as Shady Villa before the current name was adopted in 1943. Military figures George Armstrong Custer and Robert E. Lee, and cattle baron Shanghai Pierce are among those…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJCY_donahoe-community_Bartlett-TX.html
Colonists settled in the late 1840s along the fertile Donahoe Creek. Samuel Gibbs Leatherman (1799-1888) arrived in 1854 and opened the first mercantile store. He gave land for the cemetery and brought in the first doctor. In 1880 Leatherman donat…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJC1_site-of-german-english-school_Bartlett-TX.html
Established by German immigrants in 1880, the German-English School was an early school in the Bartlett area. First called Indian Creek School, the name was changed due to popular usage and the nature of instruction, which was in English during th…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJC0_st-john-lutheran-church_Bartlett-TX.html
The first Lutheran worship services in this area were held at the home of early German settler J.E. Pietzsch, who had moved from Austin County. In 1880 a small school and church building was erected on land donated by John Bartlett, for whom the n…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJBZ_site-of-booker-t-washington-school_Bartlett-TX.html
With overcrowded buildings at the African American school in southwestern Bartlett, the Bartlett trustees bought four buildings from Camp Swift in Bastrop to enlarge the facilities. A bond issue passed in 1948, and plans began for a U-shaped build…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMJBY_first-baptist-church-of-bartlett_Bartlett-TX.html
Originally known as Pecan Grove Baptist Church, this fellowship was organized in 1873 by the Rev. M.V. Smith, The Rev. H.I. Kimball, and the Rev. G.W. Baines, great-grandfather of United States President Lyndon Baines Johnson. In 1884 the church w…
PAGE 6 OF 7