Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , tx us

Page 5 of 7 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 68
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMIB4_joppa-community_Bertram-TX.html
Some of the first settlers in this farming and ranching community were the William Alexander Faires family in 1874 and the Martin Luther Ater family the next year. The settlement was called "Pool Branch" for a nearby pool formed by a waterfall. In…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMIB2_general-adam-r-johnson_Burnet-TX.html
Home County of Texas ConfederateGeneral Adam R. JohnsonJoined C. S. Army 1861. Cavalry scout with Gen. Nathan B. Forest 1861-62. Commanded Partisan Rangers 1862-64 executing daring exploits behind enemy lines in Kentucky area. Took Newburgh, India…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMIAZ_hoovers-valley-cemetery_Burnet-TX.html
Established in 1850 by the Rev. Isaac Hoover, of local Methodist Protestant church. He came from Tennessee; soon initiated services in nearby oak grove. Oldest stone dates from about 1850. Another grave is of Whitlock family, killed by Indians. Ma…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMIAY_holland-springs_Burnet-TX.html
Indians had probably visited these clear, cool springs for centuries when, in 1847, Henry E. McCulloch established a Ranger camp here, on Hamilton Creek. A year later, Samuel E. Holland (1826-1917), a Georgian, decided while visiting the camp that…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMIAX_hoag-faubion-fuchs-house_Marble-Falls-TX.html
William H. Hoag, an electrical engineer from New York City, and his wife Beatrice built this house in 1910. The Hoags sold the house to local farmer and rancher Sam Faubion in 1914. Faubion rented the home to rancher, farmer, piano tuner, and Burn…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMI9V_the-galloway-house_Burnet-TX.html
The original part of this house was built in 1856. The adobe and rock residence, owned by Maj. Hugh H. Calvert, also served as an inn. Local landowner Enoch Brooks bought the home in 1885 and made major additions to the structure. Significant chan…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMI9Q_otto-ebeling-house_Marble-Falls-TX.html
Banker Otto Ebeling (1863-1935) built this Victorian residence for his wife, Emille (Giesecke), and their four children shortly after moving to Marble Falls in 1891. Ebeling sold the property in 1913 when he moved to Austin. Over the years the str…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMI9O_dobyville-cemetery_Burnet-TX.html
The Dobyville Cemetery is the last visible remnant of the community of Dobyville. Settled in the 1850s, and named for the town's location on a white adobe rock hill. The cemetery contains more than 230 marked graves, between 60 and 70 graves are u…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMI9M_dead-mans-hole_Marble-Falls-TX.html
Entomologist Ferdinand Lueders made the earliest recorded discovery of this cave in 1821. Notorious in the Civil War era, the hole is believed to have been the dumping ground for up to 17 bodies, including those of pro-Union Judge John R. Scott an…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMI9L_crownover-chapel_Marble-Falls-TX.html
Backbone Valley's first public building, started 1859 on 7-acre tract donated that year by heirs of settler Jefferson Barton. Finished 1870, chapel was named for the Rev. Arter Crownover (1810-76), whose preaching of Methodist faith opened its use…
PAGE 5 OF 7