Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , nh us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 29
Today a trip to town takes minutes. For homesteaders, traveling the bumpy 15 miles to Conway by wagon took 3 hours, on a good day. Trips to the store would not have been casual affairs, but a chance to stock up on supplies. 50 lb. sacks of g…
Local Ideas Builder Amzi Russell who lived at what is now the Russell-Colbath homestead, was an industrious and versatile nearby builder. His crew of three to thirty local hands were not engineers. But they were extremely skilled craftsmen who w…
Erected to the memory of the loyal men of Wolfeboro who served in the War of 1861-1865 by grateful citizens
Site of the Willey House Landslide 1826 Erected by Anne Stickney Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1875
Kancamagus Highway This scenic highway through the White Mountain National Forest was constructed through the combined efforts of the New Hampshire Department of Public Works and Highways, the U.S. Bureau of Public Roads, and the U.S. Fores…
Erected by the Town of Tamworth In memory of those who served their country. "To you from failing hands we throw the torch - be yours to hold it high."
First Summer Playhouse Nearby stands "The Barnstormers" summer playhouse, the oldest in New Hampshire and one of the first in the nation. Opened in 1931, at one time the cast covered a weekly 80-mile circuit. Currently its performances are limite…
Purchased and moved to this site in 1930 by Milton and Eva B. "Short" Seeley, these kennels produced sled dogs for exploration, racing, and showing. For almost 50 years Chinook Kennels exerted a profound influence upon the Alaskan Malamute and Sib…
In 1872 the tracks of the Portsmouth, Great Falls & Conway Railroad were completed to North Conway, and in 1874 the railroad built this magnificent building to serve as their depot and offices. Nathaniel J. Bradlee, a well-known Boston architect, …
This 23 ton caboose is owned by John Egan of Largo, FL and formerly of Gorham, NH. The car was built about 1915 by Central Vermont Railway in their shops at St. Albans, VT. About 1930 it was transferred to the affiliated Grand Trunk Railway. John …