You searched for City|State|Country: , al us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 16
Known as Bluffton from about 1835-1893. Bluffton was incorporated in 1865. Name changed to Lanett, town of Lanett incorporated 1893. Its charter was approved in 1895. Early records mention academies, two near this site. The Presbyterian Ch…
Side 1Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid
As sheriff of Lincoln County, Pat Garrett was charged with tracking down and arresting Billy the Kid, a friend from Garrett's saloon keeping days in Fort Sumner, New Mexico. He was captured in December 1880 a…
In Honor of All Langdale Veterans
World War II
To those who gavethe ultimate sacrifice
A Tributeto the menof ourcommunitywho haveserved inthe ArmedForces forour country
Lest We Forget
Following the signing of the Creek Treaty in 1832, the early white settlers constructed a 16 by 30 foot hand hewn log fort for protection against a possible Indian uprising from Cussetaw Indian Village on Osanippa Creek just north of here. Walls o…
Lafayette Cemetery, also known as Westview, began in 1934 with the death of Miss Sarah Gipson. Many early pioneers and veterans of East Alabama are buried here including Revolutionary War Patriot Capt. Alexander Dunn, Col. Charles McLemore, Confed…
This structure was built by early settlers from Virginia, Tennessee, and the Carolinas, and subsequently modified. The original building has stood since 1836.
Union Sunday School began here in 1891. Many eminent ministers have filled the pulpit.
Side 1Providence Baptist Church was organized before 1836 by Elder Francis Calloway. It was one on the ten charter churches of the East Liberty Baptist Association. The small white frame church was built during the ministry of Reverend George E. B…
Called CreeksIndian villages nearbywere affiliated with eitherUpper or Lower Confederaciesof the Creek Nation.
In colonial timesSpain, France and Englandcontended for this section.Indian title ceded in 1832.
Side 1The school was located at three different sites on Cherry Drive. Its beginning was in The Blue Hall Building adjacent to Goodsell Methodist Church. Later it was moved to the Dallas/Jackson Home and became the Jackson Hill School. In 1921, Ge…