Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , md us

Page 7 of 13 — Showing results 61 to 70 of 121
Site of county recreational facilities from the early 1900s to 1962, at the confluence of the Potomac and Port Tobacco Rivers. Originally a resort for St. Thomas Manor, steamboats brought passengers from Washington DC for the day. Opened to the ge…
After assassinating President Abraham Lincoln on April 14, 1865, John Wilkes Booth and his accomplice, David A. Herold, fled Washington for Southern Maryland, a hotbed of Confederate sympathizers. After leaving the home of Dr. Samuel A. Mudd near …
The widow Eilbeck, mentioned in Washington's diary, lived here. Her daughter, Ann Eilbeck, married Col. George Mason of Gunston Hall, Virginia. Araby built about 1700.
Dating from 1662 the oldest continuously active parish in the United States. Founded 1641 by Father Andrew White, S.J., who named Chapel Point. Present church built 1798. St. Thomas Manor has been a Jesuit residence since its erection in 1741.
John Wilkes Booth and David Herold remained hidden from April 16 to 21, 1865 in a nearby pine thicket, while Union troops searched for them. Thomas A. Jones brought them food and the newspapers.
Home of Miss Olivia Floyd, Confederate agent, and her brother Robert Semmes Floyd, C.S.A. killed in action. Both are buried in St. Ignatius Church Yard two miles south.
Destroyed by a tornado on November 9, 1926. Thirteen pupils and four townspeople lost their lives and approximately thirty-five were injured. The school stood 433 feet northwest of this site on a rise in a residential area near the junction of Wic…
Home of Captain William Fendlay Dement. 1st Maryland Artillery, C.S.A. He served with distinction at Seven Pines, Second Manassas, Cedar Run, Harper's Ferry, Gettysburg, Appomattox, and Sharpsburg. Buried at Pomfret.
11.8 miles West near Ironsides, MD. Oldest church in Charles County. Served by thirty rectors through 257 years. Present building erected 1732. Visited by George Washington 1771. Restored by Governor Smallwood 1791.
Built circa 1768 by merchant and tobacco farmer George Maxwell, Maxwell Hall features massive twin chimneys and foundation stones of English chert. Local tradition holds that in the War of 1812, the British invasion force took possession of Maxwel…
PAGE 7 OF 13