You searched for City|State|Country: , oh us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 41
Agricultural development and cultivation on steep lands led to severe
soil erosion in the nation in the 1920s and 1930s. In response, the
United States Department of Agriculture established the Soil Conservation
Service SCS) in 1935. The SCS es…
The present Visitor Center opened in 1992, relocating from a smaller building. The Visitor Center houses a fifty-four seat theater, an exhibit hall with canal-related information, visitor services and offices for support staff. The Founders Galler…
Colonial Dames XVII Century
Old Stone Fort
believed to have been built by
De'Iberville, LaSalle's successor,
who built French forts in the
Mississippi Valley, 1679 to 1689.
He located one northeast of the
Dr. Lower was born May 6, 1867 and reared on a farm near Chili, Ohio, Crawford Twp. He attended Chili School and graduated from Western Reserve University Medical School in 1891. Dr. Lower performed the first leg amputation in 1898. In 1900 he ser…
Side A:The acknowledged host of the Underground Railroad in Coshocton County was Prior Foster, a well respected African American who lodged fugitive slaves in his shanty at Harbaugh Corner. He fed, sheltered, and clothed them and then accompanied …
This flag was created when Missouri was added to the Union. It was the first flag to be called "Old Glory" and to be recognized by the Army.
James Taylor, owner of a Coshocton woolen mill, built a house and possibly the fruit cellar on this lot in 1826. Taylor moved to California in 1840. Subsequent owners include David Frew, a miller, farmer, and a postmaster, and Daniel Rose, a Cosho…
In 1842, Maro Johnson purchased a portion of lot #2. The deed read that Johnson had to have the property paid for and a respectable building erected on it within one year. Those terms were met. The building became Dr. Johnson's office.
James LeRetilley Sr. purchased the building in 1849, a year before his death. In 1825, he moved to Caldersburgh from Muskingum County and opened a general store. He was the first postmaster in Caldersburgh (1826). After the canal opened, LeRetille…
Since its construction, this has always been a retail building: at one time a grocery store and once a mortuary. The upper floors contain private apartments.
The building is named after William Roscoe, an English poet and abolitionist.