Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , va us

Page 6 of 31 — Showing results 51 to 60 of 310
Samuel Detwiler lived in this house in 1905 when he was the town liveryman. With the demise of the horse and buggy, he and his son Frank began a dairy farm. Their barn was located where the Post Office now stands. Each day they would herd their co…
Huckster George Kinchloe worked the area until the end of Prohibition. His wife "Aunt Inez" then opened the house to boarders. 5ยข buckets of beer were delivered every Friday night to the thirsty school teachers residing here. Later, the left fron…
Built by H. Longley. Oscar Woody, who was a member of the railroad and sea postal services, bought the house in 1910. He was on duty on the Titanic when she went down on his 41st birthday. He was buried at sea on April 24, 1912.
The house was built by the Ambler family who maintained a farm outside of town where they grew various crops. In the 1960's a business located here painted the building pink and it has been known by locals ever since as the "Pink" House.
Clifton was the largest town in Fairfax County when Louis Quigg built this Victorian house. It was considered the finest with its mansard roof and open 5 story staircase. The best in furnishings and adornments in New York made the Quigg House the …
Built by Harrison G. Otis. A popular resort hotel during the last quarter of the 19th century, offering health of the 19th century mineral water from its Paradise Spring and the finest in southern cuisine. Presidents Arthur, Grant, Hayes, Roosevel…
Home of Melvin M. Payne, a housebuilder and lumber broker to the railroads. Payne's bench mark, a split tree and cross, can be found 'branded' on the framing of many older Clifton area homes. It is also carved into the parlor mantel.
The original structure was built in 1898 as a residence for the Weaver's who owned the general store next door. It was destroyed by a fire in 1930 that erupted in the general store. The present structure was built in the early 1930's as a residenc…
The Poindexter family built this house in the Folk Victorian style. An old postcard written by Laura Poindexter revealed that the house was named "Ferndale". Long time Clifton resident, Margaret Detwiler Webb lived and painted here as a young woma…
After the Civil War, residents seeking Christian fellowship and education organized a Sunday School in the Hetzel House at the corner of Chapel and Pendleton streets. In 1869, nine members of the community organized Clifton Presbyterian Church, la…
PAGE 6 OF 31