You searched for City|State|Country: , oh us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 47
As the nation's first and largest minimum
security correctional facility, the Fairfield
School for Boys served over 100,000 Ohio
juvenile offenders. The school was converted
to an adult facility in 1980.
(text on supplementary tablets)
The Bremen Oil Boom commenced in
1907-08 and the town became a center
in the region's petroleum industry.
The area was a forest of oil derricks.
From this point south, it was said that one could
go down Broad Street from derrick to derrick
Fairfield County quickly mobilized after the attack on Ft. Sumter, South Carolina on April 12, 1861 and the beginning of the Civil War. Parts of the county fairgrounds became Camp Anderson, in honor of Major Robert Anderson who commanded Fort Sumt…
Built in 1881, John Bright #2 covered bridge
originally spanned Poplar Creek on Bish Road near
Baltimore, Ohio. It is named after pioneer settler
John Bright, whose family farm was located near
the original site. August Borneman of Lancaster,
...commissioned in 1849 to ring the praise of Almighty God from the steeple of the old M.E. Church on South Jackson (High) Street, this bell was relocated by the congregation to their present church in September 1907. Eventually displaced by elect…
First bride married in
OSU Stadium to
Keith J. Kistler Oct. 19, 2002
The Former Site of
The Fairfield County
1743 East Main Street
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
[Placed] December 27, 2008
This building, the original C & O Depot at Carroll, Ohio, was presented to the Fairfield County Agricultural Society by Mr. & Mrs. James D. McGill August 1966. It will be preserved for Historical purposes.
This building, the original Liberty Twp. No. 6 School, was presented to the Fairfield County Agriculture Society by the Arthur Weakley Family of Baltimore, Ohio, August, 1976. The original school house bell was presented by Douglas A. Weakley of U…
This building, the original Dumontville General Store, was presented to the Fairfield County Agricultural Society by Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Alvis in honor of Mr. Joe Arnold, the proprietor for many years. It will be preserved for Historical purposes.