Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , va us

Page 5 of 6 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 59
Here, at the Hook, Tarleton, commanding the cavalry of Cornwallis's army, fought an action with Choisy's French force and Virginia militia, October 3, 1781. The Duke de Lauzun's cavalry charged Tarleton, who retired to Gloucester Point. There he w…
Here lived Thomas Calhoun Walker, the first black to practice law in Gloucester County and a civil rights spokesman who vigorously advocated education and land ownership for blacks. Mr. Walker was elected for two terms to Gloucester's Board of Sup…
Erected by their surviving comrades and friends.Plant the fair column o'er the vacant grave, a soldier;s honors let a soldier have.1889
The Garden club, Gloucester, VA, planted a live oak tree, April 2, 1957 near old clerk's office on Court Green in honor of the internationally revered botanist and for 51 years, 1722-1773, Clerk of Gloucester County, VA.Scientiae Artis HerbariaeAc…
County of Gloucester, VA. Re-erected 1766 on site of building destroyed by fire.Restored, remodeled and clerks office building added 1956.Carl M. Lindner & Son A.I.A. Architects, Richmond, VirginiaWray & Richardson, General Contractors, Williamsbu…
36th U.S. Colored TroopsSept. 16, 1839 - Sept. 29, 1905Served during the Civil War as a private inCompany 1, 36th United States Colored Troops.He was awarded the Medal of Honor for hisbravery at the Battle of Chapins Farm,Virginia on September 29,…
ofWeromocomocoWicomicoGloucester CountyVirginiaSculpture by Adolf SehringA.D.1994
The courthouse was built in 1766. The debtors prison is also old. A skirmish occurred near here between Confederate and Union cavalry, January 29, 1864.
Seven and one-half miles southwest is Cappahosic, where a ferry was established early in the eighteenth century. On the old charts, this indian district lay between Werowocomoco and Timberneck Creek. Powhatan is said to have offered it to Capt. Jo…
A mile and a half west is the site of Marlfield, an eighteenth-century dwelling built by the Buckner family. It was purchased in 1782 by William Jones, who gave the house its name. Jones was among the first Virginia planters to use marl in his agr…