You searched for City|State|Country: , me us
Page 4 of 8 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 77
September 25, 1918
"Dismissal of Incompetent Persons
Any incompetent person or persons who may be employed on the work shall be removed on the requisition of the owner or engineer; and no person so removed shall thereafter be employed…
"The construction of these two lodges marks a step well considered in the development of the (carriage road) system and... marks a step in development of the whole island and for the Park, since such beautiful structures just at its borders…
Bass Harbor Head Light stands at the southernmost tip of Mount Desert Island and marks the entrance to Blue Hill Bay and Bass Harbor. Since 1858 it has warned mariners of navigational hazards along this rocky shore.
In the nineteenth century, …
Dedicated in honor of the service men and women of Stonington who served their country in time of war and peace and in cherished memory of those who sacrificed their lives in the cause of American liberty
Agamont Park is named after the Agamont House, built by Tobias Roberts in 1857 as Bar Harbor's first hotel. It burned down in 1888. The unusual name was supposedly given by his granddaughter who called this hill on the water "Aqua Mont." Many earl…
Bass Harbor Head Light stands at the southern most tip of Mount Desert Island and marks the entrance to Blue Hill Bay and Bass Harbor. Since 1858 it has warned mariners of navigation hazards along this rocky shore.
In the nineteenth century, the w…
This gated lodge was built in 1932 to keep motor vehicles off of John D. Rockefeller, Jr. carriage roads and out of Acadia interior. Rockefeller hired New York architect Grosvenor Atterbury to design the building in harmony with the natural surrou…
Built in 1780 by Colonel Campbell, named in honor of his regiment, H.B.M. 74th - "The Argyle Highlanders," following a southerly direction to the shore.
Upon the explosion of the Tory refugees - September-October, 1784, a number of dwell…
soldiers & seamen killed during the siege, July 25 - August 14, 1779.
This Fortress, originally known by its garrison as FORT PENOBSCOT and named by Admiral Sir George Collier in his reports FORT CASTINE received its present designation from its builder, British general Francis McLean upon its completion in December…