Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , oh us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 35
Home of William Bensinger and John R. Porter among first winners of Medal of Honor in the Civil War.
This monument marks the square of the village of Risdon founded in 1832. The land was owned by John Gorsuch, who settled here with his family in a clearing along the Portage River in 1831. He had a plat of the area made by David Risdon, Seneca Cou…
SIde A Fort Necessity A short distance to the northeast a small stockade and blockhouse were built on June 22, 1812 by order of General William Hull for his nearly 2000 man army on its Detroit expedition during the War of 1812. Here mired in…
Village of Arcadia side A Settled in 1833, Arcadia was one of the last permanent villages to be established in eastern Hancock County. Pioneers Ambrose, David, and Ephriam Peters laid out the farming village on the south edge of "Wild Cat Thicket…
Side A (eagle logo) (5 service medallions) In gratitude to all who've secured our freedom Side B Peace "lest we forget those who served"
Side A This village was founded in 1830 on the banks of the Blanchard River by Asa M. Lake, son of Asa Lake, veteran of the Revolution and War of 1812 and first settler of Delaware Township. The town and river are named for an early French…
Johnny Appleseed (John Chapman) (owned property and planted apple) (trees in this community) dedicated- September- 1966 Mt. Blanchard Garden Club & Men's Garden Club of Findlay
Village of Arlington First a farming community, later a railroad crossroads in southern Hancock County, Arlington was one of the county's earliest settlements. Gen. William Hull opened a trail into the area during the War of 1812 as he cros…
Side A The village was laid out on August 18, 1847, by Benjamin Todd, and consisted of 18 lots in Section 26 of Pleasant Township. Originally named Pleasantville, it was incorporated in 1858 and the name was changed in honor of Maj. Gen. Alexande…
This frame church, architecturally typical of the rural churches built throughout Ohio in the latter nineteenth century, was constructed in 1885 during the pastorate of E.L.T. Engers. The first pastors were from the German Reformed tradition and s…