You searched for City|State|Country: , md us
Page 9 of 13 — Showing results 81 to 90 of 123
(first marker) The Concord Point Light Keeper's House and Property
Constructed by John Donahoo of Havre de Grace, Builder of Twelve Maryland Light Houses. 1827-1920
The house and property were sold by the U.S.Government in April 1920 as the …
On the point where the mighty Susquehanna River meets the Chesapeake Bay stands the lighthouse that protected vessels from dangerous waters for 148 years.
Built in 1827 to protect vessels from dangerous shoals and currents at the mouth of the S…
Erected at the mouth of the Susquehanna River in 1827, it is the oldest lighthouse in continuous operation in the United States. Now under automatic control, it was manned by the O'Neill Family until 1928. John O'Neill was named as the first light…
George Washington stayed here the night of June 5, 1773 on his way back to Mt. Vernon from Columbia College, New York, where he had left his stepson Jackie Custis.
One of two officers in Lafayette's Army who, according to tradition, were so struck with the view from here that they vowed to return after the Revolution. Greme did settle nearby with his family and in 1850 he was buried beside Trappe Church, the…
The Rock Run Mill was built in 1794 by John Stump, a prominent businessman, on land originally known as "Land of Promise." The mill was in continuous operation until 1954. It is one of the oldest mills still standing in Harford County.
Had Lafayette failed in quelling the mutiny of his troops here on Friday, April 13, 1781, the Battle of Yorktown might never have been fought.
Peach Bottom Slate, first used 1734, is the oldest in America. The first commercial cut having been made 1785 by workmen who were primarily Welsh. At the London Crystal Palace Exposition, 1850, Peach Bottom Slate was judged best in the world.
Count de Rochambeau's heavy artillery and baggage train camped near this point September 10, 1781. After fording the Susquehanna River at Bald Friar they proceeded to Bush to join the main troops.
Acquired 1761 by Colonel Thomas White (1704-1779). Largest colonial landowner in this part of Maryland. Deputy Surveyor-General of Baltimore (then including Harford) County. Father of Bishop William White, first presiding Bishop of the Episcopal C…