Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ms us

Page 3 of 15 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 142
Robert Estes Kennington was one of Jackson's wealthiest merchants in the early 1900s. In 1912, he chose this hill north of the city to build "Kenwood," a grand brick mansion on extensive grounds including a tennis court, lake, formal g…
During the Civil War siege of Jackson, on July 11, 1863, Union soldiers in the 2nd Michigan Infantry staged an impromptu assault on the city's fortifications. Advancing south through what is today eastern Belhaven, they overran a campsit…
On September 4, 1875, Charles Caldwell, a former slave and Republican state senator, organized a political rally at "Moses Hill." Firing erupted during the rally, attended by more than 1,500 blacks and about 75 whites, including som…
Built ca. 1835, this Greek Revival house is one of the oldest in Hinds Co. U.S. Grant passed by enroute to Civil War siege of V'burg, 1863. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Est. 1897 as Christ's Holiness School; moved to this site in 1907. Chartered as Christ Missionary & Industrial College in 1908. Teaches religious, academic, and vocational curriculum for grades 1-12+.
A gift of R.V. Powers in 1917 enabled the Mississippi Children's Home Society, est. 1912, to build on this site "The Kate McWillie Powers Memorial", a home for children in the care of the Society. In 1997, the Society dedicated this campus as a me…
Built ca. 1853 for James H. Boyd, Mayor of Jackson, 1842, 1844, 1850, and 1858. One of the few homes to survive the Civil War, the Greek Revival house is listed on National Register of Historic Places.
History of the GM&O Depot Known at the date of its closing as the GM&O Depot, this passenger depot was constructed in 1927 by the New Orleans Great Northern Railroad (NOGN) and later served the Gulf, Mobile & Northern Railroad (GM&N) as well as …
The Coker House is the only remaining structure on grounds where the pivotal Battle of Champion Hill was fought on May 16, 1863. Located on the southern margin of the battlefield, the house sustained fire from both Union and Confederate artill…
What you see here is a reconstruction of the 1852 house built by the Cokers. Efforts to fully restore the original house were not successful. In order to save the structure, the house was dismantled and the salvaged materials were used in the …
PAGE 3 OF 15