You searched for City|State|Country: , nj us
Page 2 of 34 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 332
In an 1889 Ringoes magazine, James Monroe Hoagland wrote of a cemetery of about 100 graves. It has been obliterated by plowing but was located in the field to your right. John Hoagland and other early farmers and settlers are said to have been bur…
These stately trees, mostly White Oak (Quercus alba), are living remnants of the land owned and farmed by Jacob Kase (Case) who came in 1732 from what is now Germany. Some of these trees may date to the 18th century. This stand of trees was bisect…
Lake Solitude Dam (also known as the Taylor Dam) was constructed in 1858 across the South Branch of the Raritan River to provide hydro-power and hydro-electric power to Taylor Iron and Steel Company.
The original falls structure (spillway) was …
The Oswaego Express plunged through a washed out bridge over Quequacommisscong Creek just to the south on 4 October 1877 after its last stop in Milford. Eight died.
It served as a burial ground from 1844 to 1915. Built by "Stuttering Jake" Swackhammer for the ministry of his uncle, Rev. Lambert Swackhammer, an opponent of slavery and alcohol, its church members over the years were predominantly of the Luthera…
The first confirmed burial here was 1794 concurrent with the erection of the church. It originally had a section for "colored and strangers" who were eventually honored with a 1999 monument. Today, it is the resting place of founding church member…
The old part of this plot is also known as the Dunkard Cemetery. The 1840 will of Gideon Moore donated the property including a wall. Many early church members lie here, including its 50 year pastor, Rev. Israel Poulson.
The first burial on this former farm of John Barber, Esq. was circa 1750. Early settlers, prominent citizens, slaves, war veterans, and politicians such as U.S. Senator & NJ Governor John Lambert Sr. are buried here.
This 12-acre nonsecterian plot was established in 1729 when George Fox set aside 1/4 acre as a resting place for locals who had passed from life. Captain Daniel Bray, the Revolutionary War here is among those interred here.
Built in 1878 of cast & wrought iron by Lambertville Iron Works. One of the earliest Iron Pratt Through Truss bridges with Phoenix columns in the U.S.