Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , nj us

Page 9 of 34 — Showing results 81 to 90 of 332
Designed by noted Philadelphia architect Edwin Forrest Durand, the church was built in 1865 by Cornelius Arnett. An 1895 renovation added the rounded arch entrance as well as second level stained glass windows. The church contributes to the signif…
Altered in 1830Addition in 1854Chancel added in 1883Presented by Penelope Van Princes Chapter, Oldwick, New Jersey
This church is the direct replacement for the same parish community of Saint Joachim's Church, West Portal, New Jersey, destroyed by fire February 5, 1944.
The Easton-Brunswick Road c.1740 and the Easton-Trenton Road c.1750 merged here and completed their journey to Easton together.
In 1778 the Continental Congress moved 4,916 British and German troops captured at Saratoga, south from Boston along today's Route 513, crossing the Delaware at Sherrard's Ferry (Frenchtown). Many escaped along the way but 3,600 reached Virginia, …
Lenape tribes used this abundant Hunterdon mineral for spearpoints and tools. One of their trade routes followed the River Road (now Rte. 29) southwards toward Sanhican (Trenton).
New Jersey was the first to propose naming a highway in honor of WWII veterans. The Blue Star sign placed here was the nation's first to identify a highway as such.
This point marks the intersection of the upper and lower Minisink Trails connector used by Lenape for travel and trade between the Delaware and Raritan Rivers.
Until 1930 this intersection was the turn-off point for west-bound motorists who opted to drive northward to avoid the Jugtown Mtn. grades toward Phillipsburg and Easton.
The oldest and smallest N.J. Public Schoolhouse still in use. This 1872 structure replaced an 1832 octagonal building.
PAGE 9 OF 34