You searched for City|State|Country: , ia us
Page 4 of 6 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 56
Under various owners, this building was used for furniture & undertaking, which was a popular business combination in the late 1800's and early 1900's. In 1963 this became the Iowa State University Extension Service office.
On this site circa 1…
Businesses in this building have included: a barber shop, a confectionary, a general store, a meat market, a hardware store, an appliance store, a carpet store, and a bakery.
Rows of nails were hammered into the wood floor and used to measure r…
This building was originally one story. It served as a meat market and then the Ideal Restaurant for a few years. Upon completion of the second story, the building became a theater and live vaudeville performances were held on stage.
In 1916, B…
Prior to the construction of this brick building Kerr and Boyd operated a grocery store here. They advertised "Staple and Fancy Groceries" as early as 1874. When Mr. Boyd retired, and Kerr's son joined him, the letter "d" in Boyd was painted over …
The Winterset Savings Bank was established in 1902 and moved into this building in 1914. Sam C. Smith's law office was also in this building, and he served as the bank president for a period dating from 1926.
This building served as City Hall f…
In 1864 this was the site of Irish immigrant Andrew Crawford's wood-frame grocery store.
This building was erected with one main facade for three stores. Notice the matching second-story windows.
Some of the businesses housed in the east end…
This middle section of the building has been occupied by a bakery, drug stores, a pool hall, a dry cleaner, an engineering firm, and restaurants, including the Black and White Restaurant and the China Cafe.
In earlier years, the second floor wa…
Businesses in this west section of the building have included a hardware store with a tin shop in the back, a second hand store, several pharmacies, and an optical shop.
The upstairs has houses law offices.
1999 Sesquicentennial Project
In 1874, in a wood frame building on this lot, Ho Cheung, a Chinese immigrant, ran A.R. Shong & Co., importers and dealers of tea and coffee. They also manufactured cigars and sold tobacco. The City Bakery was here in 1875. From 1885 through the e…
In the 1800's, agricultural implements were sold here. The Marsh Harvester advertised that "it saves the house-wife the unpleasant drudgery of providing for extra help, during the hottest season of the year" implying that extra farm hands would no…