Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ms us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 14
In 1964-65, the Council of Federated Organizations (COFO) came to Holly Springs, MS. This monument is in honor and recognition of the students who came from across the country and joined with Rust College students and local citizens to register A…
Estab. 1866 as Shaw Univ. for the education of freed slaves by Miss. Methodists and the Freedman's Aid Society. Renamed 1890 to honor Richard Sutton Rust, Methodist clergymen, educator and abolitionist.
Front In 1960 Rust College students, under the leadership of President E. A. Smith, boycotted the segregated HollyTheater, a protest that in 1962 evolved into a Rust chapter of the NAACP. The chapter offices were installed by Medgar Evers, NAAC…
In November 1862, Col. Albert Lee's cavalry and Gen. Charles Hamilton's infantry division led the Union advance down the Mississipi Central R.R. Here, at Lumpkin's Mill, Lee's men met Col. William H. Jackson's Confederate cavalry. After a spirited…
Front A recording artist, disc jockey, comedian, and ambassador for Memphis music, Rufus Thomas (1917 - 2001) was born here in Cayce. As a young man Thomas toured with the Rabbit Foot Minstrels, and later worked in Memphis as an emcee at Beale St…
Home of distinguished 19th century woman writer, who pioneered in dialect stories. Served as secretary and inspiration to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.
On November 7, 1862, Gen. John Pemberton reviewed his Confederate troops here. The next day, the army withdrew to a defensive position behind the Tallahatchie River. Union Gen. Grant's forces arrived on the 29th. After learning that Pemberton had …
Located approx. 400 yards north was the Jones-McElwain and Co. Iron Foundry, established 1859. In 1861, the firm was awarded a Confederate contract to produce rifles and muskets. Before any weapons were made, Holly Springs was threatened by Union …
Airliewood, built in 1858 for William H. Coxe on a fifteen acre estate, is a gothic style villa. The massive iron gate and fence are attributed to Wood & Perot of Boston. At the invitation of Coxe, the house was used by Major General U.S. Grant as…
At the original site of the Asbury Methodist Church, the Upper Mississippi conference was organized on February 5, 1891. Classes first held in the church led to the establishment of Rust College.