Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ct us

Page 9 of 11 — Showing results 81 to 90 of 109
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1BCR_hills-academy_Essex-CT.html
Essex was beginning to come into its own in 1832 when this building, known as Hills Academy, was built. Twelve years before, the new Borough of Essex, previously known as Potapoug Quarter, was set apart from the town of Saybrook. A letter dated S…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1BCO_early-essex-village_Essex-CT.html
At the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century, this area served as the village center. The well-equipped general store owned by Ebenezer Hayden and the surrounding businesses of the Pratt Smithy, a bake house two doors up t…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ACE_middletown-honor-roll_Middletown-CT.html
( left tablet )Acaglia Frank T. · Acerboni Ernest A. · Acheson Dean G. · Adamski John · Adamson Ernest L. · Adorno Vincenzo · Agostino Everisto · Ahern Joseph W. · Ahern Maurice J. · A…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ACC_henry-clay-work_Middletown-CT.html
"Hurrah! Hurrah! We bring the Jubilee.Hurrah! Hurrah! The flag that makes you free!Se we sang the chorus from Atlanta to the sea,While we were marching through Georgia"? ? "Marching through Georgia," by Henry Clay Work Henry Clay Work was born i…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ACB_near-this-site-in-1750_Middletown-CT.html
Near This Site In 1750The foundations were laid for Middletowns first Protestant Episcopal Church. This building, completed in 1755, was named Christ Church. The predecessor of the Church of the Holy Trinity. In this church the Right Reverend Sam…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1A73_middletown_Middletown-CT.html
MiddletownThe area known as Mattabesett, home of the Wangunk Indian tribe, was settled by English colonists from Hartford and Wethersfield in 1650. Situated at the big bend in the Connecticut River, it was named Middletown because it lay halfway b…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM197Q_old-saybrook_Old-Saybrook-CT.html
Occupied 1635 under Sponsorship of Puritan Lords and Gentlemen
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1911_haddam-veterans-monument_Haddam-CT.html
( south face ) In HonorOf The Men From HaddamWho Served In The World WarAnd In Memory Of Those WhoMade The Supreme Sacrifice Gustaf A. Andeen · Carl H. Anderson · Robert Anderson · Walter F. Bailey · John Bard ·…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1903_thirty-mile-island-plantation-burying-ground_Haddam-CT.html
The Burying GroundOf Thirty Mile Island Plantation 1662And The Site Of TheSecond Meeting House 1721 - 1771
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1901_site-of-haddam-town-hall_Haddam-CT.html
Site OfHaddam Town Hall1829 - 1929Middlesex County Court House1823 - 1896Granite Lodge No. 119. & A.F. & A.M.1896 - 1929Burned February 12, 1929
PAGE 9 OF 11