You searched for City|State|Country: , tx us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 12
Tee Pee City At the junction of the Middle Pease River and Tee Pee Creek (8 mi. NNE), is the site of Tee Pee City. In the 1870s, traders established an outpost there to take advantage of the area's buffalo hide trade. The small community of picket…
Camp of early buffalo hunters. Only settlement west of Henrietta, north of Fort Griffin and south of Fort Elliott (now Mobeetie), 1875-1880. Headquarters of Texas Rangers under Captain G.W. Arrington at intervals, 1879-1881. Abandoned about 1886. …
Pioneer carrier for cattle and farm goods. Chartered June 20, 1913 by 92 people of Motley and nearby counties. One man is said to have invested $50,000. Matador Land & Cattle Company also provided bonus funds.
Original directors were J. C. Burle…
The Matador Cattle Company began as an open range ranch in 1879 when Henry H. Campbell, A. M. Britton, and three others bought range rights in this area.
In 1882, the ranch was purchased by Scottish investors, who formed the Matador Land & Cattl…
Young and Bexar Territories
Created · Organized
August 21, 1870 · February 5, 1891
Named in honor of
Dr. Junius William Mottley
signer of the Texas
Declaration of Independence,
Aide to General Rus…
This area of Motley County was first called "Whiteflat" due to the tall white needlegrass which covered the flat prairie land. A post office, named Whiteflat, was established for the rural settlement in 1890 at the request of W. R. Tilson.
Greenville, Texas native Luther Bedford "Bob" Robertson (1894-1947), a veteran of World War I, came to Matador in the 1920s. He was a gas station attendant in 1932 when he decided to open a service station here. To promote his new business, he bui…
Dr. Albert Carroll Traweek, Sr. (1875-1959) and his wife Allie (Rainey) (1881-1963) came to Matador from Fort Worth soon after their marriage in 1897. Dr. Traweek began his medical practice, and the couple bought a small frame house. They eventual…
This 2-story jail was erected in 1891, the year Motley County was organized, after County Judge H. H. Campbell and commissioners Dan Browning, A. B. Cooper, J. J. John and W. E. Power awarded a construction contract to local builders J. F. Aiken a…
Quanah Parker spoke downtown, 1909
Matador Ranch hosted chief & wives
other Comanches camped N. of jail
Arrow Sculptor: Charles A. Smith