Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , tx us

Page 3 of 4 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 40
Designed by U.S. Treasury Department architect James A. Wetmore, this building was erected in 1917-1918 and housed the main city post office until 1964. Sold to the city in 1973, it was the public library until 1997, when it became a tourist infor…
Headquarters of Colonel Jose de las Piedras, commander of the Mexican garrison in Nacogdoches, 1827-1839. The property, after the Texas Revolution, of General Thomas J. Rusk. Served as classrooms for the University of Nacogdoches, 1845-1852.
A native of Nacogdoches.Land Commissioner, 1829.Vice-Governor of the State ofCoahuila and Texas.Active in the Texas Revolution.Died in Houston in July, 1859.His wife, Maria Montes del Padilla,Died here, August 14, 1846.
A Spanish outpost founded in 1716 by the pioneer Franciscan Antonio Margil de Jesus as a means of civilizing the Nacogdoches Indians. Abandoned temporarily due to the French incursions from Louisiana in 1719. Restored by the Marquis of Aguayo in 1…
An 18th-century trail connecting the Indian villages of the Nacogdoche and Nasoni Indians. Traveled by Spanish missionaries, soldiers and settlers, French traders and American filibusters before Anglo-American colonists came to make Texas their home.
Home of the Nacogdoches Indians in the 17th century.Spanish settlements,1716. Alternately settled and abandoned in 18th century due to French encroachments.Scene of the Fredonian Rebellion in 1827.Organized a municipality, 1832 under the Mexican …
This is the site of the first house in Texas owned by Sam Houston. The building was built in 1891 according to tax records. It was used as a hotel with furnished rooms beginning 1910. It was officially shown as the Liberty Hotel with 75 rooms for …
This courthouse stands on ground used as a cemetery after Nacgodoches was rebuilt by settlers ordered out of the area when Spain gave up East Texas outposts in 1773. Antonio Gil Y'Barbo (1729 - 1809) led the displaced persons who returned in 1779.…
Signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence, Secretary of War for the Republic of Texas, Brigadier General of the Army and hero at San Jacinto, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Republic of Texas, United States Senator, he was a soldie…
Built in 1897, by Charles Hoya (1848-1926), son of Prussian immigrant Joseph T. Van Der Hoya, and long-time Nacgodoches County surveyor. Designed by Houston architect Frank E. Rue in Victorian style with the Gothic revival details, this was the fi…