You searched for City|State|Country: , pa us
Page 4 of 6 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 54
The first settler of Milton was Marcus Huling, who established a tavern in 1772 along the Susquehanna River at this location, which is now Lincoln Park. The British and Seneca Indians stormed and burned the famed Fort Freeland located north of McE…
It was built in 1803 by Peter Swartz for Dr. James Dougal, Milton's first permanent physician and the ancestor of a long line of physicians to practice in this community.
It survived the great Milton fire of 1880, and was demolished in 1974. Ston…
The center of the Milton Historic Downtown Walking Tour logo is a reproduction of the design used on the 1864 two-cent coin, which was the first coin minted by the United States with the inscription "In God We Trust." The Director of the Mint at t…
In 1948, the Milton Borough Recreation Commission was formed and during the summer months four community parks were used under organized supervision for youth programs. The parks included Center Street, Marsh Park, Lincoln Street and Pollock schoo…
Captain of Lancaster Co. militia with Col. Benedict Arnold on 1775 midwinter march to Quebec. In 1779, served as Vice-President of Pennsylvania Council. Died in 1794; buried here in an unmarked grave.
Named for Indian occupation of the region. Presbyterian landmark. A log church was here in 1789. The present building erected in 1835. Restored in 1947 by Warrior Run Chapter D.A.R., aided by descendants and friends.
Jacob Freeland's house was stockaded in 1778 as a protection against Indians. On July 29, 1779 it was taken by British and Indians. The garrison of 21 were killed or taken prisoner. The site is a quarter-mile from here.
Mill b;uilt in 1773 and stockaded in 1778 by Jacob Freeland. Attacked, capturede and destroyed by British Tories and Seneca Indians July 28, 1779. 108 settlers killed or taken prisoner.
By deed dated Oct. 7, 1750, Richard and Thomas Penn conveyed the land upon which Herndon is located to Conrad Weiser for negotiating the Treaty of 1749 with the Indians.
In 1850, the Trevorton, Mahanoy and Susquehanna Railway Co. erected a rail…
The Indian Ambassadors Road turned east near here over the hills to the Tulpehocken Valley. Used by Iroquois chiefs from Onondaga, now Syracuse, carrying peace wampum from the "Fire that Never Dies" to Philadelphia. Often traveled by Shickellamy.