You searched for City|State|Country: , ny us
Page 5 of 5 — Showing results 41 to 49 of 49
Onondaga Indians, the keepers of the council fires for the Iroquois League, lived here. French soldiers and Jesuit missionaries came from Canada in 1654 to seek their friendship. In that year, Father Simon Le Moyne discovered salt springs in the a…
First sawmill in Town of Marcellus built 1796 by Deacon Samuel Rice and Judge Dan Bradley.
Site of first frame house in Town of Marcellus. Built by Dr. Elnathan Beach who served in American Revolution; sheriff of county from 1799 to 1801.
Site of old hotel kept by Dr. Bildad Beach. Gen. LaFayette stopped here June 9, 1824.
Known as Onondaga Castle until 1897. Renamed Rockwell Springs for the sulphur springs & picnic area. Nedrow P.O. est'd 1917.
Discovered hereOctober 16, 1869.It was proved a hoax,one of the greatest publicdeceptions in American history.
Disinterred near this village on Oct. 16, 1869. Represented as a petrified prehistoric man, it was subsequently proved a hoax.
[Obverse]:9 Mile Creek AqueductBuilt 1842 By NY State. InUse 1845 - 1918, Replacing1819 Aqueduct Located JustDownstream. One of 32 OnThe 19th Century Erie Canal.Canal Societyof N.Y.S. 1999[Reverse]:9 Mile Creek AqueductThese Limestone Arches &Pier…
Opened 1819 in JordanAbandoned Fall of 1917Aqueduct built 1841when the canal was enlargedCanal Park built 1932