You searched for City|State|Country: , wi us
Page 5 of 11 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 107
Fish Passage Program
Between 2006-2013, the Ozaukee County Planning and Parks Department was awarded over $8.5 million in federal, state, local, and private funding to develop, refine, and implement a comprehensive "Ozaukee Fish Passage Program" …
This park was once part of a limestone quarry operated by the Milwaukee Falls Lime Company, incorporated in 1890. Five vertical kilns were built for burning limestone from the quarry on the site to make quicklime. The kilns were built …
This 13'8" propeller, weighing 7 tons, is from the S.S. BADGER, which was built by the Christy Corporation of Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin and launched in 1952. The SPARTAN, a twin of the BADGER was built at the same time. The two carferries bear the m…
This bell once graced the tower of Wisconsin Street School, which stood adjacent to the present fire station. School bells such as this were often used to sound the fire alarm. The school was an early Port Washington public school, as well as the …
History of the Lime Kiln Dam
Sources: Great Lakes Archaeological Research Center and Ozaukee County Staff
The Milwaukee Falls Lime Company was established in 1892 with the opening of a limestone quarry in the Village of Grafton. The company, man…
This Queen Anne style structure was built in 1890 as the Van Alten family residence. In the 1900's Nick Wilson converted the home into The Commercial House Saloon and Hotel. Over the Years it remained a tavern and restaurant. In 2014, Barkha and J…
The building was constructed by Ernst Van Alten as a hotel, tavern, and restaurant. Many of its patrons were customers of the Thiensville Mill. It was later purchased by Louis Kieker Sr. and known as the Kieker Tavern in the 1890s.
Built on the site of master brewer Charles Engels home. A blacksmith, Gierach was elected first Village President in 1910 and later operated a general store. The Thiensville phone company switchboard operated from the home's kitchen 1908 until 1942.
This Queen Anne style house stands on land originally purchased by John Weston from the U.S. Government in 1839. In 1898, August and Minna Maas built this 17 room home for their family. Otto Bublitz purchased the home in 1907, and it remained in t…
The unwritten code of the lakes dictates that seamen come to the aid of anyone in peril. In this regard the fishermen of Port Washington time and again showed their mettle.
At the time of the September equinox, 1895 a furious gale was blowing o…